History Museum – is established in the building of the Old City Hall. It’s an important monument built in Gothic architecture, and its main part was the house of Mayor Thomas Altemberger.
The building was raised at the end of the 15 th century and is the largest civil construction pile made in Gothic fashion in Transylvania.
Between 1549 and 1948 the building was City Hall. Open in 1984, the History Museum is divided into sections: Prehistoric and Old Architecture, Middle-Age Architecture, Prints and Stamps, Carl Engber – collector and bibliophile, from the History of Sibiu, Medals and Decorations, Guilds of Sibiu, Numismatics Office, Weapons and Armors, National and Cultural Development in Transylvania and The Ancient and Medieval Terse.
The collections of the museum are: Numismatics (60,000 ancient and middle-age coins), Archeology (39,000 items and 82,000 fragments), Decorative Art and Guild Objects (1,500 items), Weapons (1,900 items) and Reference Graphics (33,000 items). Items belonging to the Baron Samuel von Brukenthal and the Carpathian Society represent the starting point of these collections.
The museum has 23 halls. The interior courtyard is given a unique importance by the stone fragment and vestige collection named the Ancient and Roman Terse.
Some of its 115 items are: the statue of the Goddess Hecate and representations of Mythras and Jupiter. The 1915 statue of Roland, ‘The Iron Man’, which was located in the Main Square, is now located at the courtyards entrance.
The permanent displays of the museum are: Romanian banknotes, from the history of the Romanian firemen, medals and decorations, prints and stamps, weapons and armors.